Myrtle Creek honors top citizens in banquet Saturday night

Myrtle Creek honors top citizens in banquet Saturday night
Claire Johnson accepts award for Myrtle Creek female Citizen of the Year
Myrtle Creek honored its top citizens Saturday night in the 49th annual Myrtle Creek-Tri City Area Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the year awards banquet, and Johnson seemed to be the predominant name.

A crowd of about 200 people attended the dinner at the Elks Lodge where two people were honored for their long-time volunteerism and hard work, in making the community a better place to live.

The female citizen of the year is Claire Johnson, who told the crowd she's honored to live in such a great area. "I'm just so proud and so thankful, that I've had the opportunity to to be with such wonderful people that look for a wonderful future."

The male citizen of the year, is Chuck Johnson, retired from Roseburg Forest Products, and a member of the Myrtle Creek Economic Development Council and on the South Douglas Food Bank Board of Directors, among other organizations.

"Now if you think I'm gonna stand up here and say anything after what Bob said for my, you're wrong. Thank you," said Johnson in a brief acceptance speech.

Two 17-year old South Umpqua High School students, Thao-Trang Hoang and Ty Holsapple, were awarded scholarships through the Chamber.

John O'Malley, a teacher and baseball coach at the high school for nearly 30 years, was given the Career Service Award.

Phil Delaney of Phil's Fly Shop won the Business of the Year Award.

The Ramp-It-Up Skateboard Task Force, was given the Special Recognition Award.

Steve Johnson was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.

A new promotional video of the Myrtle Creek area was played for the audience and drew raves for promoting the area, and capturing the essence of the community.

State Representative Susan Morgan served as MC for this year's event.