Douglas County boasts 10 all-state basketball players

Douglas County boasts 10 all-state basketball players

DOUGLAS COUNTY, Ore. -- The Oregonian's 2012 all-state basketball teams include the names of ten Douglas County athletes.

Sutherlin's Kelsey Hill was named the 4A player of the year, while teammate Miranda Mendenhall was an honorable mention selection.

Riddle sophomore Pele Gianotti was named to the Class 2A first team after helping guide the Irish to the state tournament.

Oakland's Brooke Spencer and Michelle Cottier were second team selections; and Reedsport's Eden Huebner was honorable mention.

Glide senior Conner Thompson was tabbed honorable mention in Class 3A.

Meanwhile, Days Creek guard Johnny Walters was a first team selection in Class 2A. Teammate Brody Jansen and Oakland's Nick Zimmerman were named to the third team.

The Class 1A all-state teams have not yet been announced.

Jason Hink and Brent Newton are the founders of, a regional website covering local sports in Douglas County. DCSO features video, live audio casts and all the information you need to keep track of the sports scene in Douglas County.